52 Ancestors Wk10 – Thomas Hutchby

From Gerald's Garden

From Gerald’s Garden

Last year I tried, unsuccessfully, to write about a different ancestor each week for a year. I made it to number 9!! I’m blaming changes at work which threw me. My mind has been used to a higher degree in the last six months. Hopefully I’ve adjusted and will be able to find time for writing. Let’s hope. In any case, even though the challenge is over, I’m going to continue and see if I manage 52 ancestors in a two year period.

This page to Thomas Hutchby was set up by me in May with absolutely nothing beyond the subject line.  I don’t have many facts regarding Thomas but I do believe that the ones I have pieced together are accurate.

Thomas is the father of George Hutchby, the father of Phebe who I have written on previously. The Hutchby family were from London although I don’t know whether Thomas was. It is believed he was born around 1782. Possibly in Rutland.

Trying to remember why you believe a person is part of your tree can be tricky. After an hour of clicking back through records, I’ve remembered. I have no proof that Thomas is George’s dad. I can’t find George’s birth records. However, a George Hutchby is the witness at Thomas’s daughter, Scoti’s wedding to William Upton Calderwood in 1833. I am fairly confident in my deductions as my search of the 1841 census returns 7 Hutchby’s living in Middlesex.

Back to Thomas. In 1799, a Thomas Hutchby married a Janet Robertson in Perth, Scotland. Thomas was a Corporal of the Rutland Light Dragoons. I am struggling to find information in a quick google search but believe that the regiment may have been created to provide defences against possible invasions by Napoleon in the late 18th century. It’s a theory.

Their first child, George, was born around 1800. He was followed by Sarah in 1804. She was christened in Dec 1804 at St Clement Danes, Westminster (although I can’t find this record in the London Archives). Ann Petit was born in 1809 in the parish of St James, Piccadilly. Amelia came along in 1811 and was christened at Saint Martin in the Fields. Scoti was also born in 1811 (may be Amelia?). Thomas Alexander was born abt 1813 and died at the age of 2. He was buried at St Mary Le Strand. The families abode is given as 25 Swan Yard. Most of the information I can see on Swan Yard points to it being a poorer area that experienced periods of rapid growth in the early 1800’s turning it into a slum area.

In 1807, Thomas was convicted of a felony and spent a period of time on the prison hulk, Prudentia. He was convicted for stealing a stone bottle and 3 gallons of brandy. He was convicted and sentenced to 7 years transportation. However, trying to read the remarks section (which is faint) it appears he was pardoned and released from the hulk in Mar 1808.

I found it hard to follow the story that the trial notes tell. It appears that Thomas was working for William Bramwell who was a wine and brandy merchant in Soho. It appears that Thomas was a ‘carman’ (possibly a delivery man) who worked at Bramwell’s for three years. Some of the witnesses state that he lived at Bramwell’s while another states that he lived with his wife at ‘the Plough in Crown St, Soho’. During the cross examination of Mary Mallows (the wife of Robert Mallows, who worked with Thomas), it came out that she was there to ensure her husband was not seen to have any culpability in the offence. Thomas called two character witnesses. The End.

Thomas died in 1825 aged in his mid to late 40’s. His abode at the time of his death is recorded as ‘Off Alley’.

This entry was posted in Hutchby and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

